Enough

DSC_0451I walk with my girl at the edge of the earth where the ocean rolls in and out.  There is the steady ebb and flow, just like my emotions of the last several days.

I’ve been on a couple of road trips.  Both of them began with giddy anticipation.  Both of them ended with a carload of empty bins.  The college drop-offs are complete.  A friend told me the truth about it:  “It wasn’t just a journey of miles, it was also the journey of letting go.”  Indeed there is something about driving away from a college campus that makes me feel like an old chapter ended just as a new one is beginning.

DSC_0439

How have eighteen and twenty years gone by in the blink of an eye? 

I find myself asking–“Did we do enough?  Did we climb enough mountains and chase enough fireflies and make enough s’mores?  Did we read enough stories and give enough hugs and say ‘I love you’ til we wore out the words?”  At the end of the day, though, I must lay my head on my pillow and thank God for the “enough.”

So yes, there are the empty spaces at the table now, but there is also joy in what remains.  We have just had the first day of school.

DSC_0465

DSC_0466

There will be soccer games and chem labs and band concerts. It feels different and a little bit “not right,” but it is still good.  We will figure out the “new normal.” We will draw on the strength that comes from knowing that love is stronger than miles, and that love will always be enough.

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Daughters, Family, Mothering. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Enough

  1. Amy says:

    Ugh, I know those feelings so well! For us, it’s a trip to the airport where we say our tear-filled goodbyes, instead of the long car rides and the empty bins.

    It is still good. It’s good for them to be where God has them, and we do find a new normal back at home with fewer people around the table. And then we look forward to the trip to the airport just before Christmas to pick them back up! 😄

  2. Elizabeth says:

    So very sweet! Thank you for sharing, Julie.

  3. Kim says:

    Beautiful writing, Julie. Exactly how I feel but can’t properly express. And it makes me cry! Time moves so swiftly but God is always good.

  4. Marianne says:

    Aaahhhh my dear friend! Sweet goodbyes make precious Hellos!

  5. davisfarm says:

    Gah. So well said. Enough. Christ is enough. All we have done is all we could do. ” ‘I love you’ til we wore out the words?” This. . . is powerful.

Leave a Reply

