Oceanside

Thou dost rule the swelling of the sea.

When its waves rise, Thou dost still them.

Psalm 89:9

DSC_0308

Last week, I walked by the ocean’s edge, listening to the rhythm of the surf, watching the rise and fall of the moving water.  My daughter was having her first college experience, but I admit to skipping some of the parent orientation to take a walk on the beach.  (The sessions are all on-line, so no worries!)

The last few months have been so full–senior activities, graduation, visitors, college orientation.  All good things.

In some ways, my emotions have been a bit like the sea.  Up and down.  In and out.  Yet I am finding a gentle acquiescence in my spirit.

It’s time.

It’s time for my little birds to try out their strong, new wings.  To leave for work every day at 7am,  and get home at 6.  To buy that first car.  To toss that mortarboard high in the air in celebration of accomplishment, and in anticipation of the next bend in the road.

DSC_0168_edited-1DSC_0163_edited-1

The verses I memorized years ago from Colossians have become my heart’s cry:

I ask that they may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. May they be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified them to share in the inheritance of the saints in light (Colossians 1:9-11).

I have a strong sense that my work is not diminished, it is simply shifting.  Perhaps it is less a work of my hands, but more a work on my knees. 

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Family, Mothering. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oceanside

  1. Tammy Davis says:

    “Perhaps it is less a work of my hands, but more a work on my knees. ” Beautiful words. Brilliant. Great perspective. Thank you so much!

  2. elaine says:

    Since I am just a couple years further down the road of launching our birds out of the nest, I say AMEN and AMEN to your God given thoughts. Praying for our adult children is our greatest gift and privilege at this stage of parenting. We just moved our youngest to Chicago. It has been a joy to watch each one fly even if our nest seems a bit quiet at times. We are so grateful to see God continue to answer our prayers for each of them in many different ways.

    • Julie says:

      Elaine, you’ve always been such a tremendous source of encouragement to me, even over distance and years. Thank you for loving me deeply, especially in the formative years of my mothering. It is a joy to hear how the Lord has guided and blessed you and your family. 🙂

  3. Julie Sunne says:

    It’s such a dance of emotions as we release our children, Julie. You’ve captured the shift we must make as Christian parents so well in this statement: “Perhaps it is less a work of my hands, but more a work on my knees.”

    And as we help the older ones fly, we gain a renewed sense of perspective for our younger children. Loving them here and now becomes much more of a priority. Enjoy each step in this journey of parenthood!

Leave a Reply

