The Art of Good-Bye

At Christmas, Anna gave a special gift.  It was wrapped in the manner of a fresh ten-year-old:  lots of tape and a hand-tied bow.  In the paper was her first watercolor painting.  It was for Emma.  “To put in your college room,” Anna directed.

191

Perhaps it was prophetic–this seascape painting–since we are now at the threshold of sending Emma to her oceanside university.

I could say something pithy here.  “How fast the time has flown,” or “It seems like yesterday when she was little.”  And isn’t that how it is?  The years so quickly changed her infant form into the beautiful young woman she has become.

I feel the gathering tightness in my throat as I put the deposit check in the envelope, but then the Word comes alive:  “When my spirit faints within me, You know my way!”    I say it over and over again:  My God is a God Who knows.

He knows my path.  He knows Emma’s path.  And I know He will hold my heart for the hard good-bye, as I send my daughter smiling into her future.

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Daughters. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Art of Good-Bye

  1. Tammy Davis says:

    Isaiah 40:31 but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Holding close in my heart. You have walked this journey so faithfully. Praying that more riches and memories will spring forth and that God will hold that tender, sweet heart of yours.

    • Julie says:

      Ah, yes, the sweet hope in the Lord! And this hope does not put us to shame because God’s love has been poured into our hearts by the Holy Spirit who has been given to us! The sweetness of this truth will buoy the weariest of souls. So glad we are walking this road together.

Leave a Reply

