Watercolor . . .

I have always been impressed by my friends who could create art–people like Amy.  I have also thought that “creating art” was an esoteric gift for those privileged few who had a certain instinct.

Then a few months ago, my nine-(now ten!)-year-old daughter announced that she wanted to be an artist when she grew up.  A simple, and perhaps typical, childhood dream, but we learned about a local offering of a watercolor class.  I agreed to be a chaperone to some young painters.  After a few sessions, the teacher, noticing my interest, suggested that I join the class as well.

I started looking forward to class with an odd sense of anticipation.  “What would Judie have for us to do today?” I’d wonder.  And each week, a new little piece of wonder would unfold as I sat with my palette and paper.

So here it is, dear readers:  proof that with a little instruction, anyone can learn something new.  🙂

DSC_0065

“Before the mountains were brought forth,
    or ever you had formed the earth and the world,
    from everlasting to everlasting you are God.” Psalm 90:2

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Grace Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Watercolor . . .

  1. Judy Ruegsegger says:

    Julie, this is just wonderful!!! You and your talents never cease to amaze me…your art is just beautiful…just like you!!

  2. Tammy Davis says:

    Oh my sweet Julie! This is beautiful. I believe that artists need to create. At some point in their life the desire will come forth. You dear, dear friend possess such talent! Love you pursuing new paths. You are a treasure. We serve the most creative of all don’t we?

  3. Elaine says:

    Julie, From our days together at Grace Bible Mom’s Morning Out program I remember you as one of the most creatively talented people I knew. You always were coming up with the most lovely projects for the mom’s to do and created the most beautiful homemade gifts. May you continue to explore and develop the talents the Lord has given you. Elaine

  4. Julie Sunne says:

    Love it, Julie! Beautiful work.

  5. Amy says:

    Wow, I wasn’t expecting to see my name here on your blog! (I don’t know what to say.) Thanks so much for the compliment. 🙂

    Your painting is really lovely…. isn’t it fun to paint? 🙂

Leave a Reply

