Summer’s End

It came to my e-mail inbox–the high school notification of freshman orientation.  You would think I would be used to this, having already sent three children to the high school.  But I got a lump in my throat and quickly closed the e-mail.  I just don’t feel ready.

But whether I’m ready or not, she must go. And just like the others, she is ready to go.  I guess I am just wanting to savor the childhood of my children, and high school feels so.grown.up!

Summer 2014 395Let this be a lesson to me to savor each day of her high school years–I know there will be happy ones and hard ones.  There will be the requisite ups and downs that mark the passage to independence.  But as she gazes on her Savior, I know she’ll do just fine.

Those who look to him are radiant, and their faces shall never be ashamed.”  Psalm 34:5

 

 

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Daughters. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer’s End

  1. Julie Sunne says:

    I know the feeling well, Julie. And I just returned home yesterday after dropping my second son off at college. Letting go is always hard. “But as she gazes on her Savior, I know she’ll do just fine.” Well said. *Hugs* and prayers.

  2. Frederic L. Scheffler says:

    Rachel – Our beautiful, wonderful granddaughter. How is it possible for her to be a high schooler already?

Leave a Reply

