Yes!

She had a headache.  She looked at me with that desperate gaze.  I know what this feels like–when the world is spinning and your head is throbbing and you can’t even string a logical thought together.

I brought her to the couch–my littlest one–and we lay down and she fell asleep with her head on my chest.  I fell asleep too, my eyes heavy with the weight of the day.

It was good to have her close to me.  Close and safe and filled up with love.  Was this the last time I would hold her like this, feeling her warm head nestled under mine, hearing the sweetness of her sleeping breath?

And can I tell you how many times I’ve said “No” to her? . . . “No, I can’t snuggle tonight because . . . ya-da, ya-da, ya-da.”  But this time I gave a delicious “Yes.”

I was late to my meeting that evening, but I wasn’t in a hurry.  Instead I took joy in the goodness of saying “yes” to an irretrievable moment . . . one I’ll never have back, yet will hold forever in the hollow of my heart.

 

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Daughters, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yes!

  1. Brandi says:

    Julie,
    Your perspective on motherhood and your Christlike love to your children are an inspiration to me and a reminder of keeping what matters most first and foremost. I’m thankful for you.
    Love,
    Brandi Bass

  2. Tammy Davis says:

    Ah. . . yes. You chose well my sweet friend. How those moments are fleeting.

  3. Julie Sunne says:

    Oh, my Julie, I’m grateful for the times I did say yes but how many more times I wished I had. You always inspire me to move to a better place. I hope your daughter feels better. Blessings.

  4. Fred says:

    Julie, you certainly made the right choice. I wish I could have traded places with you to be able to hold little Anna as you did. I can picture that lovely moment in my mind.

Leave a Reply

