be still

Stillness.  I find it in the quiet of the morning . . . in the hush of the night.

I find it in the edges of the day.

How can I find it in the middle?

When there are broken arms and spilled milk, piano lessons and orthodontic visits?

Yet, there is this command:  not to find stillness, but to be still.

To be still and know.

To know that He is God.

To listen to the One who commands the surges and swells of my own heart, “Be still.”

A friend recently reminded me to consider the goal of stillness.  Quietness of heart is not merely an attitude of resignation.  It is so much more.  It is meant to teach me how my portion might fit me for His purposes . . . how I might bring glad glory to Him in the middle.

Yes, even when the laundry is five loads deep, or the call comes in from ski patrol, or the little one with the tender heart needs just one more hug . . . this is when He speaks, “Be still.”  When the school kids are late out the door, or the muffins fall in the soapy sink, or the tire goes flat on the way to church . . . this is when He speaks, “Be still.”  This is when He reminds me that He is God.  And He is good.

linking with WriteAlm’s daily prompts for February

LAUREL LOVE CLIPARTS

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Living and Active. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to be still

  1. Beth says:

    Such a helpful reminder, Julie, and so beautifully portrayed. “How does my portion fit me for His purposes”? I want to remember this!

  2. Julie Sunne says:

    Oh my, Julie, how lovely! And yes!

  3. a beautiful reminder for this mama working toward quietness of heart.

Leave a Reply

