Winter’s Gift

Today the white hung heavy on every branch.  I’ve lived here, half tilt between the equator and the arctic circle, for fourteen years.  And I’ve learned that snow has different temperaments.  On some days it is fluttering and wispy.  On others it can be icy and thin.  Or heavy and thick.   It can sting sideways through the air on a stiff clipper.  Or it can fall slow and silent in the night, waking us with wonder as the dawn becomes day.

And the joyous surprise of it all really is this–every time it snows, it is a fresh memorial to grace.  Because though my sins are scarlet, they shall be as white as snow. 

I feel like a fledgling as I try to understand the infinity of His grace . . . the depth of His forgiveness . . . the completeness of the “Tetelestai!” cried on the cross.  This “whiter than snow” absolution softens my soul and reminds me that I am pure and clean and dearly loved. 

This rehearsal of mercy–it is winter’s gift.

DSC_0099 DSC_0122 DSC_0106DSC_0125

 

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter’s Gift

  1. Elaine says:

    Julie, I appreciate your posts. You are a gifted writer. It is hard to believe that it has been fourteen years since your move to Vermont.

    • Julie says:

      Hi Elaine! Yes, time seems to have flown by for your family as well. I am just beginning to think of transitioning our children to adulthood! It’s a fun and exciting time too, though. All the best to you and yours!

  2. Julie Sunne says:

    No wonder I love winter! Beautiful, Julie, you need to be writing more–a book/devotional?

Leave a Reply

