New Year’s Eve

It’s New Year’s Eve.  In some ways it seems arbitrary that today is a significant marker of time.  It is a day like any other.

But we have made it a day to reflect, to review the days gone by, to evaluate where we are on a road marked with a few defining moments, but mostly ordinary ones.  And we also get ready to turn the page on a new year.  And, truth is, we long for the fresh start.  We yearn to open our eyes to the new mercies.

I think about the events of the year just lived–the way the world opened up for my oldest daughter as she traveled on a mission trip to Africa.

424148_387734121238957_1246798562_nThe way that my heart grieved and rejoiced all at the same time as I heard my son’s name called to receive his high school diploma.

DSC_0503_edited-1 There was the soul-searching of a decision to place a “not-quite-teenager” in public school.  There were teeth lost, braces removed, sports practiced, dances rehearsed.

DSC_0097 There were driving permits.  Driver’s licenses.  Boundaries stretched in new ways.  And often it just drives me to my knees, which is where the year is really lived.

Though certainly the year for us has been filled with measures of joy and sorrow, I offer a prayer of humble thanks for every good and perfect gift that has come from my Father’s hand.  In the beautiful things, I see His wisdom.  In the quiet moments, I take joy in the sweetness of His presence.  In the laughter at the table, I am filled up with the measure of His kindness.  In the hard things, I long for all to be made right at His coming.

Yes, “I will rejoice in the Lord; I will take joy in the God of my salvation.”  Habakkuk 3:18

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

