A Thankful Heart

There is gathering of graces in the sum of it all.  When I add up the days, the hours, the moments of my small life, I trace this thread of a thankful heart.

Sometimes it has been a thin thread–when I struggle to see the beauty in the ways that God is weaving it all together.  Because the longer I live and the more people I know, the more I know that life is hard.  In the dark hours, thanksgiving is a choice.

But then there are so many times when it flows full and free.  When my daughter is running along the beach with a friend.  Or when there is laughter at the table.  When the school gets done with cheerful hearts.  Or when I share a sweet hour with a friend.

A prayer was spoken on my wedding day–that the Lord would give enough trial to remind us of our need of Him, and enough joy to sustain us in the years.  This keeps ringing true, and thanks in everything is the way to keep my eyes riveted on the Giver of all good gifts.

And the dearest gift of all is the gift of His Son, the gift of forgiveness, the gift of His love.  I looked into the beautiful face of a friend today; she asked me to “put words” on the Father’s love for the Son.  Are there words deep enough?  “Inexhaustible.”  “Perfect.” “Measureless.”  “Full.”  “Free.”  We have this undeniable yet unimaginable truth spoken in our Savior’s voice:  As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you!  Oh believers, may we ever be a thankful people!

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Grace Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Thankful Heart

  1. Chelle says:

    Julie,
    what a beautiful liturgy on Thanks. So glad I found you at GraceLaced.
    Peace and good to you in Jesus’ name.

Leave a Reply

