A Comprehensive Grace

I started with a lofty goal.  Truth to tell, I thought it might be unattainable.  I wanted to memorize the Word, but not just a little bit here and there.  An entire pastoral letter.  Then I added a chapter from Revelation.  And a psalm.  These are not yet perfectly formed in my memory, but I do keep turning the words over and over again.

The cadences come in the night watches–

~ May you be filled with the knowledge of his will

~ He has delivered us from the domain of darkness

~ In Christ are hidden all the riches of wisdom and knowledge

~ Your life is hidden with Christ in God

These are not just any words.  They are my life.

The words keep sifting through my heart, and one small truth comes leaping off the page.  It is a truth wrapped tight in a little word:  “all.”

I am laid low by the wonder of this little word.  He has forgiven all my trespasses.  In him is no darkness at all.  He is making all things new.  All the paths of the Lord are steadfast love and faithfulness.

Surely this comprehensive and glorious “all” is a divine commodity, yet my Jesus demands it from me too.  I scarcely know how to live it out.  My heart, soul, mind and strength–how do I give it all when I live in this body of flesh which is pock-marked with an admixture of intention?  My need is as infinite as His promises and I bow my head in praise to the One who says, “Come to me, all labor and are heavy laden and I will give you rest.”

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Grace Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Comprehensive Grace

  1. Julie says:

    What a wonderful word “all” is. I liked this post, thanks for posting it. 🙂

  2. Valarie says:

    It is such a simple, yet oh so deep word. Only through Him can I even muster the hope to give Him my “all” and trust Him to keep showing me how to do so. Thanks for this pondering.

  3. juliesunne says:

    Much to ponder. Much to praise. Wonderful post. Thanks, Julie

Leave a Reply

