Five Minute Friday — {Dance}

Thanks to Lisa Jo for her weekly {five minute} prompts.  Here is my take on today’s word: Dance.

I remember the long car ride downtown.  Once a week, it was my day to dance.  And though dancing was never my gift, I loved being at the studio.  There was Miss Deb with her tightly curled bun,  her black chiffon skirt and her gentle manner.  The pianist was there too, playing chords and rhythms to match the exercises.  “Plie, releve, plie, up,”–the patterns still ring in my memory.  There was the mingling fragrance of windex and rosin and leather.  All this weaving into the story of who I am.

It’s been decades since I’ve danced, yet I find myself in a new place of rhythm and motion.  It is a place measured by the “daily doing,” not the annual performance.  It is the telekinesis of bending over to lace a shoe, of kneading a loaf of bread, of a swaying slow dance in the kitchen with my husband.  There is no applause–no audience except for the sweetness of  my Father’s gaze.  “For He looks to the ends of the earth and sees everything under the heavens,”  (Job 28:24).

And I praise His name in this dance.

And just for fun, here is a silhouette of my daughter, who really can dance!

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five Minute Friday — {Dance}

  1. Beautiful writing…I especially enjoyed your description of Miss Deb!

  2. juliesunne says:

    Love the photo, Julie. Dancing for the Love: great description of what our life should be. Enjoy a blessed weekend.

  3. Sara H says:

    “no audience except for the sweetness of my Father’s gaze” and that’s really who we ought to be “dancing” for anyway. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Indeed–we have an audience of One and He is pleased with us through His dear Son. I have to pinch myself to believe it sometimes!

Leave a Reply

