Come Quickly

Absence gives a gift.  Unexpectedly.  I see his clothes hanging in the closet, unworn and unmoved.  I go about the tasks that are normally his–waking early in the morning to shovel the driveway, taking the trash to the curb.  All these reminders of him.  It has been nearly two weeks since I’ve heard his voice. 

Then there’s our girl.  She’s the one who could run the house–the one who knows where everything is.  I call her name by accident.  She’s not here.

At dinner the rest of us laugh and talk.  About  how Daddy thinks he’s funny but he’s really not, and how in the end, that’s really funny.  About how we’re going to make them a “Welcome Home” poster and fill it with all of our inside jokes and stories.

We have filled the week with happy distractions.  Time with friends.  Time on the slopes.  Painting projects.  Camping out in the family room.

But each day is filled with a new longing. 

Yes, there are lessons in this and I want to be a good student.  Every day brings a tutorial in trust:  trust that His grace is enough and the He will provide the needed measures of strength.  Each hour brings an admonition to hug often and to speak grace Every night when I close up the house and turn out the lights, I think that it’s one day nearer to reunion.

As I type, I watch the flight tracker on another window.  Their plane is edging northward over Africa, this huge continent that looks all Lilliput on my laptop screen.  And I wish that the plane could just go faster.

Oh that I might have the same yen for heaven . . . that I would long for Him with the same sense of joyful anticipation.  Tomorrow my husband will be home.  My daughter will sleep in her own bed.  We’ll be together again and it will be a little picture of forever.

But my Lord has made a better promise–far sweeter than the greatest earthly joy.  He is coming soon.  He won’t forget.  Amen.  Come, Lord Jesus!

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Come Quickly

  1. MM says:

    Yes! I remember those days of longing during the last Cameroon trip. May we long for His glorious appearing with the same eager anticipation. Enjoy your sweet reunion.

  2. juliesunne says:

    Your words masterfully project your feeling of anticipation, Julie. Sounds like you leaned on the Lord during the separation and were a good pupil! Enjoy being a complete family again! And, yes, come Lord Jesus, come. Amen!

  3. Linda says:

    Last night as the kids and I were reading and praying, I prayed this exact thing. I prayed that the Lord would teach me and the kids how to long for his appearing and that we would be desiring to hear his voice and do his will. As I clean the house today (my homecoming tradition), I want to be prepared as the wise virgins in Matt 25 who were ready, prepared, longing, and keeping watch because no one knows the hour THE BRIDEGROOM will appear.

  4. This is really good writing~using your life experience to help us see a spiritual truth.This is a good way to make us think about our longing to be with our Bridegroom King.

    Keep up the good writing!

Leave a Reply

