Outside In — {Pieces of Home}

It sure has been a flurry of activity here in our corner.  Now that the holidays are over and the high school exams are done, I am dusting off my camera and my keyboard.  And I thought I’d share a little bit about our house.

I loved our house the minute we walked in the door.  It was an emotional connection.  Having lived in a dark, narrow rowhouse, clustered tight with other graduate student families, I was longing for space and light and air.

Our house was unfinished when we happened upon it thirteen years ago.  More than a bit rough.  But I imagined how it might look with drywall and paint and a little bit of life ringing through the rooms.

There was a forest in the back.  Lots of pine made the perfect place to launch a child’s imagination.  I loved the big windows and the way that the world outside made blurry lines with the in.

So the builder made us a house.  We’ve made it a home.

It’s so not perfect.  I have a long mental list of updates and improvements.  But really, those are all details and I have this amazing, full life and this place, this home (flaws and all) is where a lot of it is lived.

So here’s my journal of thanks as I look around my little house today:

big pinecones on the piano, that place where the fingers fly and music floats . . .

a little golden-hearted girl . . .

an “anniversary table,” complete with a shell to remind us of quiet days on the beach . . .

blankets–oh to keep warm on a winter’s day . . .

a new life for old tin–a mirror for reflection . . .

all these just a few tokens of the place where we call home.

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Grace Gifts, Homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outside In — {Pieces of Home}

  1. juliesunne says:

    I loved reading this post, Julie. It is about what we put into our houses that makes them homes, isn’t it–no matter what the home may look like physically or where it is located? Sounds like a lot of love is poured into yours!

Leave a Reply

