Alone

I am here–small against an ocean, every sense awake in the fleeing summer.  The sun is warm.  The air is salt.  Waves crash hard on the rocks then race to the shore.  The cycle spins and turns, water coming, water going–sometimes breaking out at sea, sometimes falling gentle in bubbles around my bare feet.

I find five little sand dollars.  I am rich, holding beauty in my hand.   How many more of these will never fall under the gaze of a human eye, yet their beauty brings Him pleasure.  His glory is enough for Him, but He has shared these few exquisite tokens with me.

I savor this moment of “aloneness.”  This is a gift–a time apart.  Time to think, to pray, to thank.  Time to simply be.

I understand my Savior’s longing for being with His Father.  I, too, have my ragtag little band of followers–always needing, always watching.  I pour myself into them, but this is a time of refilling.

I find so  many lessons at this place–power, majesty, beauty, sovereignty, stillness.  He gives me His word, reminding me that He who placed this very sand as a boundary for the sea holds the waters of my heart.  He rebukes my anxious, churning waves–“Peace, be still.”  And my heart obeys.

Proverbs 20:5, Jeremiah 5:22, Matthew 8:23-27

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Grace Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alone

  1. Marianne Coad says:

    So sweet, my dear friend. You are gifted in ways that are truly amazing!

Leave a Reply

