Five Minute Friday

I am always looking for fun ways to develop as a writer.  One day in blogdom, I discovered a gal who challenges her audience with a weekly writing prompt.  I was intrigued by the “gypsy mama’s” encouragement to write for five minutes, not worrying and second-guessing–just writing.  Ahhh, freedom!    Her word prompt this Friday is NEW.

GO:  So we have a new car.  Not brand new, but new to us.  A veritable quiver on wheels–a shiny, white, fitting replacement to our old one with its drooping tailpipe, rusted doors and failed locking mechanisms.

Actually, this vehicle is not a car.  It is a more of a truck.  A Chevrolet Suburban.  Not environmentally savvy, I know, but if you consider the gas mileage per person, we’re doing well.

I had never imagined twenty years ago that our family size would require such a large vehicle.  But the Lord has added, and we are blessed.

Still it’s hard to plunk down the funds for a replacement.  A new vehicle seems such a rust-bound purchase for us in the north country.  Plus I’d rather use my money for other “kingdom things.”  But I send this new car to the street with a prayer that it will be redeemed by God.

We’ll put our arrows into it and drive back and forth to church where they will hear words of life.  We will drive to visit family 800 miles away, making memories and laughing happy with people we love.  We’ll drive to the lake, to the mountains, the seashore–all the places where we can marvel at majesty and gaze at glory.

Here you have it:  our “new” car . . .

About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five Minute Friday

  1. Fred Miller says:

    Your writing style is thoroughly delightful! My home schoolers really get into, “I write, you write,” stores that happen happily right in front of our eyes. I’m saving your posts for my writers this fall. Your posts will be sources for style and topic.
    Thank You for Loving Jesus!
    May the Lord bless the socks off you!
    You’re Incredible, Jesus Made You That Way ! ! !
    Make it a Great Day

    Fred Miller

  2. Leslie says:

    Thanks for visiting me. We are on our second Suburban – love it, even though now there is just the two of us, it is still perfect for our needs, As I told a man drooling and asking about gas mileage, I said ” I ride in comfort from gas station to gas station”,

  3. Mary-Margaret says:

    I was really blessed by this post. We need to upgrade our vehicle to fit #5 in due February, and it is hard to think of spending money on something so “temporal”. But in the words of my mama, “It’s God’s money, and this is how He wants us to spend it right now.” I love the idea of giving things over to the Lord to redeem.

  4. sydperry says:

    Julie, I thank you for your comment too. I’ll be thinking about books for your middle schoolers. Boys or girls? Vampires or laugh out-louds? What grade actually? 6th is so different from 8th. See you next Friday. 🙂

  5. Tammy says:

    Loved this post Julie! I too, as you know, have been struggling with the same journey, but feeling incredibly guilty. My study in Ecc. brought me to this! Ecc. 5:19 “Moreover, when God gives any man wealth and possessions, and enables him to enjoy them, accept his lot and be happy in his work-this is a gift of God.” So, thanks for the double reminder!

Leave a Reply

