Growing Up

An A-frame and a cross beam bear the load as my two little ones swing on an evening in May.  I watch Anna as she pulls, shifts her weight, flies into the air.  There once was heard a sing-song refrain:  “Mommy, can you give me a push?”  I can’t even remember the last time she chimed her infant inquiry.

It stings a bit when I think back.   I would sometimes grumble at the request.  “I’m busy.  I have to get dinner on.  Ask your sister to push you . . .”  The growing-up happens and I sit at the window watching them laugh and play.  They make a game of jumping-off, soaring, defying gravity for just a moment.  They tumble and laugh.  They want me to watch and somehow I am still a part of it all.  Simple, lavish grace–even for the moments when I struggled with the “yes.

Thankful for His grace gifts:

~the swing set, neighbors so generous

~an evening walk with my girls

~strawberry rhubarb pie

~Fanny Crosby hymns

~spring in bloom


About Julie

A happy wife, a mom on the learning curve, a daughter of the King . . .
This entry was posted in Grace Gifts, Mothering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

